This brief guide, intended as an introduction to congregational archives, can help in starting
an archives, but may not answer every question that arises. Additional assistance
is available from the ELCA churchwide archives, from your ELCA synodical /
regional archives, or from professional organizations listed at the end of this
guide.
WHY ESTABLISH AN ARCHIVES?
The archives of a congregation contain the primary records needed to identify its past. Today documents that provide evidence
of the past are produced in a variety of formats from paper to
electronic. These materials require protection and preservation to prevent the
loss of your congregation's history that would occur if the material was
neglected.
Archives have been called the collective memory of an organization. In order to
preserve the entire history of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America,
well-maintained and accessible archives are needed in each congregation.
Congregational archives stand with the other archives of the whole
church as a resource for American Lutheran history and as evidence for the wider
history of Christian life and mission in the world.
RESPONSIBILITY FOR A CONGREGATION'S RECORDS
A congregation has the primary responsibility for its archives mainly because
they are the property of the congregation. Churchwide and synodical archivists
can only assume a limited responsibility as advisors to congregations. Specific
responsibility for maintaining a congregation's records belongs with the pastor and others involved in the creation of
those records.
The ELCA's model constitution includes the following element relative to
records:
C9.12.The pastor of this congregation:
a. shall keep accurate parochial records of all baptisms, confirmations,
marriages, burials, communicants, members received, members dismissed, or
members excluded from the congregation;
b. shall submit a summary of such statistics annually to the synod;
In addition to recorded pastoral acts and compilations of parochial data,
there are many other historical records that need attention and preservation. To
administer the congregation archives, to assist the pastor, and to oversee and
perhaps to conduct archival work of the congregation, it may be useful to
appoint an archives committee. The ELCA Model Constitution for Congregations
provides for committees such as an archives committee to be established as
needed. The archives committee, directly responsible to the congregation council
and pastor, should be concerned primarily with providing continuous care of
records as they move from active to archival status. Archival work carried out
by the archives committee should be performed in full cooperation with the
pastor and others who create records of the congregation. For some
congregations, in addition to an archives committee, an archivist can be
appointed.
For additional information, see: The Work of a
Congregational Archivist and/or Archives Committee.
If a congregation is the result of a merger or consolidation of
congregations, the resulting congregation becomes responsible for maintaining
the records of all predecessors. If a congregation disbands, the
records become the responsibility and property of the synod and are
deposited in the appropriate synodical/regional archives.
ARCHIVAL MATERIALS
Archival materials are those that hold historical and evidential value for the
congregation. Usually these documents answer the who, what, when, where and (if
possible) the why of the history of a local parish. The official papers,
correspondence, and other parish records created or received by the congregation
and its officers and organizations belong to the congregation. All such material
qualifies for archival preservation. Records should not be thought of as
the property of the pastor or any other individual member who maintains or
produces them. A policy to clarify the issue of ownership of congregational
records should be developed by the congregation council. A sample
Final Disposition Policy is available.
To keep track of records transferred into archival custody, creating accession
records is advised. An accession record maintains the provenance, by recording
who produced the records, their inclusive dates, the amount of materials, date
received and the person responsible for the transfer of materials to the
archives.
If records are donated to the archives from private sources, a Deed of Gift
should be created that assigns all copyrights, as well as literary and property
rights in the materials, to the congregation. The form can be adapted to
specific donor requests by adding or changing some sections. Both the donor and
the congregation’s representative (the archivist or a church officer) should
sign and date the agreement, with a copy of the signed agreement given to the
donor. For smaller donations, such as a single photo or bulletin, a simple dated
letter or acknowledgement and thank you naming the item donated may suffice.
WHAT SHOULD BE PRESERVED?
Records created and maintained today will become the historical records of
tomorrow. These records may have administrative, fiscal, legal and evidential
value. While some records retain these values, many do not.
Generally, there are three categories of records that must, should or could be
retained by your archives:
A. Records and documents that must be preserved and filed systematically in
the archives:
1. Copies of the articles of incorporation, all constitutions and all
by-laws and amendments of such documents, of the congregation and its
organizations. Note: Each version should be dated.
2. The list of charter members and all accessions, transfers and releases of
members thereafter.
3. The parish registers recording the ministerial acts, especially for
baptisms, confirmations, marriages, burials, etc.
4. The minutes of the meetings of the congregation, Congregation Council,
committees, and organizations.
5. A dated, annual list of all members of the congregation.
6. A dated, annual list of all the names of officers and members of boards
and committees.
7. All official correspondence (i.e. concerning congregational, rather than
personal, matters).
8. Copies of the reports of all the church's official committees,
commissions, societies, and organizations.
9. Copies of all calls extended to rostered leaders and appointments to
teachers and other church workers that are accepted by them. Calls and
appointments that have been declined should not be preserved.
10. Records of any disciplinary actions.
11. Printed materials including the Sunday bulletins, congregational
newsletters, letters to the council or general membership, orders of
service, and programs for special events.
12. The records of parish, weekday, vacation and Sunday schools.
13. The non-current treasurers' records, such as annual reports and audits.
14. Copies of the deeds and descriptions of the church properties, titles,
leases, surveys, etc.
15. All contracts for the construction of congregational buildings, and
facilities, as well as contracts negotiated for special services. All plans,
specifications, blueprints, and drawings should be included.
16. Mortgages should be retained even after they have been retired. It is
advisable to use copies for mortgage-burning ceremonies.
17. Photographs or other graphic depictions of the congregation's building(s),
pastors, organizations, activities, and events.
18. Other media items: sound or video recordings of worship services,
special events, musical presentations, and activities.
19. Histories of the congregation.
B. Additional materials created by, for, or about the congregation provide
additional documentary evidence and should be preserved:
1. Source materials, such as original returns of surveys or
questionnaires.
2. Statistical and comparative summaries on finance, attendance, and
membership, particularly copies of reports submitted to the synod office or
ELCA units and organizations.
3. Local newspaper articles or histories that include information on the
congregation.
4. Synod minutes that include parochial reports of the congregation.
5. A chronological account of the major events and activities of a
congregation.
6. Unpublished studies, theses or dissertations about the congregation by
students or other researchers.
C. Supplemental information could be maintained, for reference purposes, if
space permits:
1. Histories of: the ELCA and predecessor church bodies; related synods
and their predecessors; neighboring congregations; and ELCA colleges,
seminaries, and social service institutions closely associated with the
congregation.
2. Biographical information gathered from various resources on persons from
the congregation.
3. Museum pieces (such as carvings, stained-glass windows, old vestments,
and altarware) also should be preserved, although congregations may need to
be guided by considerations of space in deciding what objects are kept.
Often if still usable, it is best to donate them to a congregation in need
of them, although records of such gifts should be preserved.
HOW SHOULD MATERIALS BE PRESERVED?
Location
The archives should be located in a locked, fireproof room, area, or filing
cabinet that is least affected by extremes of light, heat, dryness or humidity.
The ideal storage environment has a temperature of 67 degrees Fahrenheit, plus
or minus 2 degrees, with relative humidity of 47% plus or minus 2 percent. If
this ideal cannot be met, an area that can maintain conditions close to these,
with minimal fluctuations is best.
Storage Containers
Archival materials should be placed into archival file folders or envelopes
made of acid-free or lignin-free paper. Folders form the primary support for
preserving the documents. If open shelves are used, folders are placed in
acid-free boxes, or document cases, available in sizes to fit standard
letter- and legal-size paper, pamphlets and oversized materials such as parish
registers. Document cases protect
records from direct light and dirt. (Note: Acid free folders and boxes are
available from manufacturers who specialize in archival products.)
Care for Records
When placing materials into folders and document cases, all fastening
devices -- metal paper clips and staples, rubber bands, and string -- should be
removed. These items may be a source of deterioration.
Materials should not be folded to fit into containers. Oversize materials, such
as blueprints, confirmation photographs, and other large items should be stored
flat if at all possible. Map cases would be advisable if a large number of such
items need preservation. Do not try to unroll items, since brittleness may cause
documents to crack.
Water, chemical sprays, adhesives and lamination cause irrevocable damage to
paper and photographs. Cleaning or repair of documents requires special
techniques and restoration work should only be undertaken by professionals.
When records have become severely damaged or deteriorated, carefully place items
into folders and containers and seek professional advice. The axiom, “when in
doubt, do nothing,” should apply until a professional can assess what is needed
to stabilize or restore damaged documents. Costs of such treatments are
expensive and special budgeting or fund raising might be needed to complete such
work.
Documents should not be marked with permanent ink. If any marks are made for
identification purposes, use pencil. Another axiom is the "rule of
reversibility:"
only do things to the documents that can reversed, such as erasing a pencil
notation.
Photographs, negatives, slides, audio and video recordings, and artifacts should
be filed separately from paper documents. Negatives should be stored separately
from associated prints. These items have chemical properties that are more
active or unstable compared to paper, so extra care in providing appropriate
sleeves, folders and boxes is important as well as storing them in a location
without temperature and humidity extremes.
If scrapbooks are to be assembled for anniversaries or other historical
observances, be aware that most adhesives will permanently damage original
documents and photographs. A scrapbook cannot be considered a means to
permanently preserve materials, but rather serve as a memento for a specific
occasion. Whenever possible, use only duplicates or copies to compile a
scrapbook, so that when it is used during special occasions you will not be
endangering the original documents to theft, vandalism, etc.
Records should be inspected periodically for atmospheric and vermin damage, and
adequate safeguards and protective measures should be taken if evidence of such
damage is found.
Under normal circumstances, vital records such as minutes, membership records
and ministerial acts should not be removed from the church premises, except for
restoration or microfilming. In certain cases, ELCA synodical/regional archives may be willing to
store records for congregations.
ARRANGEMENT AND DESCRIPTION
Two major archival principles govern the method of organizing materials:
provenance and original order.
Arrangement according to provenance is when records are organized
according to the group or person that created the records. Within an
archives, materials are arranged into what are known as record groups, each
representing a record creating entity. In a congregation, some record creating
entities include: the congregation as a whole, the pastor, officers,
congregation council, committees, and organizations. Subgroups may be used for
greater clarity. For example, the record group, "Christian Education," might
have subgroups for each department, Sunday School, Adult and Confirmation. Past
and present organizational charts of the congregation would be the best place to
start when establishing appropriate record groups.
Under each record group will be one or more groupings of functionally related
records, referred to as record series. Record series are often identified by
general titles such as: correspondence, reports, minutes, and subject files. An
example in a typical congregation would be as follows:
Record Group: Church Council
Record Series:
1. Council Rosters
2. Minutes
3. Correspondence
4. Reports
A record series is identified as such and is arranged in this manner at the
time records are received into the archives.
The second archival principle, retention of the original order of
records, means preserving the records in the
order and filing scheme in which the records were created. Records should not be
reorganized alphabetically by subject, name, or other systems. Original order
must be maintained except in cases where records are inaccessible due to their
arrangement or if they are not arranged at all. When this occurs, records should
be arranged into record series by type (minutes, correspondence) in
chronological order under the appropriate record group.
Once materials are arranged by record group and record series, guides to the
records, or finding aids, can be prepared. Each record series has its own
finding aid. Basic to the finding aid is a folder by folder listing of
materials, with inclusive dates. Also included are brief historical background
notes and a description that highlights what cannot be easily understood by
looking through the folder listing. For example, the finding aid for
correspondence by the pastor to the congregation may include a brief
biographical sketch of the pastor, as well as the circumstances related to the
creation of the records. The description may denote what subject matter the
letters comprise, how they are arranged and whether there is correspondence
missing.
Historical notes might also include the starting date of the group involved,
name changes, function of the group and major changes in its authority,
objectives, or activities. A description indicates completeness of materials,
reasons for missing items, notes on arrangement (alphabetical, chronological,
etc.) and other information as needed. The finding aid/guide repeats the
provenance information recorded in the accession record and the name of the
person who processed the records and wrote the finding aid.
ELECTRONIC RECORDS
The least complicated way to retain information found in electronic form is to
store paper copies of narrative sources such as correspondence, reports, and
minutes. Parish membership lists and other data that are updated often should be
printed and dated regularly. Creating a records schedule would avoid gaps in
this information gathering.
With the use of computers and related devices, archivists now face the
challenge of preservation and accessibility of electronic or machine-readable
records. Common electronic records storage media, such as computer hard drives,
tapes, and disks, are susceptible to damage and obsolescence and cannot be
considered for permanent archival storage. Data in these media is software
and hardware dependent. For electronic records to remain viable, the data must be migrated to newer software programs using the latest hardware. Therefore,
to maintain records in an electronic form, there must be a commitment to update
continually as you convert to the newest technology. Migrating data to new
systems may not be an archival activity, but if the records have long-term,
historical value, and a choice is made not to continue to store them in
an electronic form, then appropriate actions must be taken to retain the records
or information for historical purposes.
For those records that are only useful in data form, a strict schedule of
refreshing the data, including transfer to new software and hardware is
necessary. Information on the data contents (metadata) should be retained for
continuing access. Also, saving files in more universal formats will allow for
easier conversions to newer technologies as they become available.
Also of interest for the historical record is a means to ensure that short-term
storage, through back-up copies is done regularly and copies are stored
in a another building, if possible. Data loss can occur for a
variety of reasons during active use or in storage. Adequate back up will ensure
that a high percentage of data can be restored for current activities. This is
an archival issue since many records needed for on-going business may also hold
historical value. Congregations should become involved in creating a “Business
Continuity Plan,” which would also benefit the archival record in the long-term.
MICROFILMING, DIGITAL IMAGING, REFORMATTING
The information below is a brief
introduction to microfilming and should not be considered a complete guide.
When records are deteriorating and further damage results from using them, a
cost-effective and accepted method of preserving the information, if not the
actual paper, is microfilming.
Ensuring that archival quality film is produced is extremely important. Most
commercial microfilm companies do not do this kind of filming. It is
recommended that congregations seek outside assistance before entering into such
projects.
Records must be appropriately prepared before filming so that they are
filmed in a logical sequence with introductory title and contents pages at the
beginning of the film, and frequent "targets" to indicate the start of a new record
series, volume, or folder. [PDFs of sample targets:
1, 2, 3,
4, 5,
8, 9,
10, 11,
27, 30,
32, and 33.]
Archival film, which is silver-based film, must be used and it is further
subjected to tests for contrast, density, and clarity, according to American
National Standards Institute (ANSI) standards.
The original negative should be stored under environmentally controlled
conditions and is only used to make additional copies. Only positive
copies are used for reference purposes.
The ELCA churchwide archives can store the original negatives of
microfilm for congregations who choose to have their records filmed.
Synodical/regional archives may also offer this service to congregations. See
Guidelines for Preparing Records for
Microfilming for additional information on preparation of records for
filming.
Digital imaging is used to capture the image of archival materials through
electronic means. Through the use of scanning or digital
cameras, a quality image of the original is created, which can be further
enhanced electronically. The question is whether the scanned images
will continue to be retrievable with technological change. Metadata indicating
how the data is stored, the contents and other technological information is
needed, so that it may be migrated to new software and hardware as technology
changes.
For more information, see Comparison of
Microfilming and Digital Preservation Technologies.
In addition, newer technology makes it possible to transfer audio and video
recordings and motion picture film to digital formats. It is important to have
quality control over these procedures just as it would be for microfilming or
scanning paper-based records. In all instances, the originals should not be
discarded except if they are disintegrating and the information is no longer
accessible. As technology advances, it may be possible to reformat the originals
again with an improved result. Also, some items may still have values as
artifacts that could be used in special exhibits or anniversary celebrations.
Additional information and assistance is available from the churchwide archives or
from your synodical/regional archives.
COOPERATION WITH OTHERS
Because a congregation is related to the rest of the ELCA, as well as to its community
in which it is located,
working with others is an important element of any archival program. It is a
means by which to obtain assistance and information, and make the story of
your congregation known to others.
Congregational archivists should report significant historical events to the
synod archivist or other appropriate synod staff and deposit copies of certain materials with the synod archivist. Among the items to be deposited in the synod
archives are:
1. Histories of the congregation, or copies of manuscript histories, if
available.
2. Special orders of service prepared for ordinations, installations,
groundbreakings, dedications, re-dedications, and anniversaries.
3. Special bulletins or newsletters. (Synod archives cannot maintain sets of
Sunday bulletins.)
4. Biographical material pertaining to pastors, teachers, church officers, or
prominent lay persons.
5. Local or regional Lutheran periodicals and serials.
6. Photographs of churches, schools, pastors, teachers, and staff members,
identified with names and dates.
7. Positive copies of microfilmed records of congregations.
The ELCA Archives in Chicago collects congregational histories, special
bulletins, biographical information, photographs, positive reference copies of
congregational records on microfilm and for storage, original camera negatives.
Other items are accepted on a selective basis.
Your local and state historical or genealogical societies are interested in
obtaining printed congregational histories and positive copies of congregational
records on microfilm.
Pastors may desire to keep personal copies of some of the materials described
above. They should be allowed to do so, provided original copies are retained in
church files.
USING THE ARCHIVES
Anyone with a legitimate purpose should be permitted to use the archives.
Discretion should be exercised, however, where personal information is involved.
Policies on use should be established by the congregation council, upon
recommendation and consultation with the congregation's archivist or archives
committee. If records will be used for research, the person doing so should use
the documents under supervision, copying what information is needed, but not
removing ledgers, files or individual documents from the church office or
archives. Researchers must be cautioned that the copyright to both unpublished
and printed materials in the archives is owned by the congregation. Whenever
records are cited in published works, credit and congregational ownership should
be indicated.
If materials from the archives are to be exhibited in anniversary displays or
for other celebrations, materials should be placed in a location safe from theft
or vandalism. No writing or adhesives should be applied to the documents. Mats
used to frame photographs may be used to secure documents for viewing. Original
documents, including photos, should not be left on display indefinitely, since
the display area will probably not be environmentally controlled and may be
vulnerable to theft. A sample access policy
is available.
Bibliography of Resources
Bergeron, Jeanette. Manual for South Carolina Religious Archives and
Recordkeeping. Columbia, S.C.: South Carolina State Historical Records
Advisory Board, 1999.
Hunter, Gregory. Developing and Maintaining Practical Archives: A
How-To-Do-It Manual, 2nd ed. Neal-Schuman Publishers, Inc., 2003.
Behrnd-Klodt, Menzi L. and Peter J. Wosh, eds. Privacy & Confidentiality
Perspectives: Archivists & Archival Records. Chicago: Society of American
Archivists, 2005.
Pearce-Moses, Richard.
A Glossary of Archival
and Records Terminology. Chicago: Society of American Archivists, 2005.
Ritzenthaler, Mary Lynn. Preserving Archives and Manuscripts. Chicago:
Society of American Archivists, 1993.
Yakel, Elizabeth. Starting an Archives. Chicago: Society of American
Archivists and Scarecrow Press, Inc., 1994.
ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
This publication is a revision and expansion of previous guides. The information
in this current guide therefore includes contributions from many people: Sara
Burrows; Paul A. Daniels; Catherine Lundeen; the Rev. Joel W. Lundeen; John E.
Peterson; the Rev. Thomas C. Rick; the Rev. Dr. August R. Suelflow; Joel
Thoreson; Dr. Henry G. Waltmann; the Rev. Robert C. Wiederaenders; and Elisabeth
Wittman.
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES
ELCA Region 3 Archives
Memory Work
Society of American Archivists
527 S. Wells St.
5th Floor
Chicago, IL 60607
Local archival associations -- Check with ELCA churchwide or synodical/regional
archives
American Association for State and Local History
1717 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37203-2991
Oral History Association
Concordia Historical Institute
(Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod)
801 DeMun Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63105
(314) 721-5934
Lutheran Historical Conference
Note: Each of these organizations issues publications of interest to
congregational archivists. Catalogs and prices are available from each. |
 |
Print-ready PDF versions
A Brief Guide for Archives of
Congregations
The Work of a Congregational Archivist
Final Disposition Policy - Sample Wording
Guidelines for Preparing Records for Microfilming
Comparison of Microfilming and Digital Preservation Technologies
Sample Access Policy
Note: These pdf files require
Adobe Acrobat 6 or higher.

|